What color is Paris Hilton’s new truck? Green.

11 03 2008

paris_tahoe.jpg
Click to see larger

I’ve started to see Paris Hilton out in her new GMC Yukon Hybrid, one of the first off dealer lots in Los Angeles. TMZ immediately called Paris a hypocrite for keeping her fuel-intensive Bentley GTC; where I’m from we call that “player hating”. Congrats Paris, go cry about it TMZ.

Own the Parade
Trying to figure out if a hybrid is right for you? MyRide already did the math for you. Check out how long it would take for Paris to get gas mileage payback on the Yukon (hint: good thing she’s rich).

Parade Extra
Forbes is running an article right now Celebrities Who Drive Green, check it out! Thanks to Faryl for the heads up!

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 03 2008
michaelpopovici

Hmmm. I wouldn’t call Paris “green” just yet. She doesn’t need this large of a vehicle. As a matter of fact, a smaller non-hybrid car would get much better gas mileage than the yukon’s estimated 20 mpg and it wouldn’t have a large potentially toxic battery pack to power the electric motor. If she needs a car to haul around her entourage, then this may be a good solution, but I predict that she will mostly be driving herself around.

If she really wants to be green, she would be driving a smart car or a small diesel. Even a Prius would be better.

11 03 2008
ejdarvick

Michael, I agree with you regarding your statement that there are better choices out their for impacting one’s contribution to making this a “greener” earth. That said, I made no claim that Paris was a “green celebrity” and am in no position to do so about any individual; I simply made the observation that she was driving a “green vehicle”. I’ll applaud anyone for taking a step in the right direction, regardless of how big or small a step it is.

12 03 2008
everydayman

Green can mean a lot, and I see green in a sexy way here.

But anyways, she doesn’t need any vehicles, and if she does, she doesn’t need something that big I agree. Besides, she could just hitch a ride to anywhere with his pals with black N white colored cars. The ones with sirens on top. (if you know what I mean.)

http://3critical.wordpress.com

13 03 2008
michaelpopovici

EJ, that is true, you never called her green. I suppose if she was going to buy a yukon anyways, the hybrid was the better choice. If she wasn’t going to be purchasing a large suv, and bought this one in order to be green, then I would call it a misstep instead of a step in the right direction.

I will concede the point that neither of us are in a position to judge her intentions or the alternatives she was considering.

Cool blog, btw. Despite being a “greenie”, I am definitely into cars. You can see a post about the Smart Car (any celebrities in those yet?) on my companies blog that I write for here: http://phoneraiser.wordpress.com/2008/03/11/smarts-in-dallas/

Leave a Reply

